2013 Maritime Cup: APM Terminals, NAGAFF, Ocean Star shine


The football team of leading terminal operator, APM Terminals Apapa Limited yesterday won its first match in the ongoing 5th Maritime Cup Competition. APM Terminals Apapa defeated its Group B rival, Lagos Deep Offshore Logistics Base (LADOL) by three goals to nothing.

The first goal was scored in the tenth minute of the game by Enegide Azuka while the second goal came in the 44th minute courtesy Sikiru Noah.

APM Terminals’ last goal of the match was scored by Oyin Ozor in the 42nd minute of the second half.

The tension-soaked match, played yesterday morning on the Astro-turf pitch of National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos, was watched a sizable crowd including the Managing Director of APM Terminals, Mr. Dallas Hampton.

The National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) also won its first match of the competition. The match, played in the Main Bowl of the National Stadium, saw NAGAFF defeating Group B arch rival and 2011 winner of the competition, Micura Stevedoring Service by three goals to two.

NAGAFF’s first and second goals were scored by Emeka Odingwu in the seventh and eleventh minutes of the game.

Micura scored its first goal through Alani Afez in the 23rd minute leaving the score line at two goals to one at the end of the first half.

Micura scored its second goal and equaliser twenty one minutes into the second half through Oweribi Raphael but NAGAFF regained its lead through a 70th minute goal scored by John Utaka. In the third match of the day also played in the Main Bowl, Nigerian Shippers Council held Group C rival, the Association of Registered Freight Forwarders (AREFF) to a goalless draw.

The last match of the second day of the Maritime Cup Competition was played on the Astro-Turf pitch between Sifax Group and Ocean Star Shipping Company. The match ended 3-1 in favour of Ocean Star.