Customs wins Maritime Cup, beats NAGAFF in tension-soaked final

Customs wins Maritime Cup, beats NAGAFF in tension-soaked final

Customs wins Maritime Cup, beats NAGAFF in tension-soaked final
2016 Maritime Cup champions, Nigeria Customs Service at the National Stadium, Lagos yesterday.

The Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) yesterday defeated the National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) to win the 2016 edition of the annual Ships & Ports Maritime Cup Competition.

Customs defeated NAGAFF 9 – 6 after penalty shootout to lift the coveted trophy for a record fourth time. 

Customs scored the opening goal in the 2nd minute through Abubakar Mikael but the NAGAFF boys replied in the second half through Sunday Adeyemi. At the end of 90 minutes action packed game, Customs prevailed via 9-8 penalty shootout.

The match had the supporters of both sides on edge while it lasted. 

Customs has won the coveted trophy three times in the past while NAGAFF has won it once.

Customs qualified for the final on Thursday by defeating Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) 2-0 in a hotly contested semi-final match at the NPA Sports Ground, while NAGAFF secured its ticket in the final by defeating Nigerian Navy 6-0.

Customs and NAGAFF were the winner and runner-up of Group B, which also had Apapa Bulk Terminal Limited (ABTL) and Micura Stevedoring Services.

Customs topped the group with nine points after winning all its three matches against NAGAFF (1-0), Micura (2-0) and ABTL (7-0) to advance to the semi-final.

NAGAFF on its part secured six points at the group stage after losing 0-1 to Customs and defeating ABTL and Micura 2-0 and 4-0 respectively.

The third place match of the competition was played by Group A leader, Nigerian Navy and runner-up, NPA. Navy also won on penalty kicks after a barren full time play. 

Other teams in Group A, which did not advance beyond the group stage include defending champions Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) and Tin Can Island Container Terminal (TICT).

Past winners of the Maritime Cup Competition, which is organized annually by Ships & Ports Limited, are Nigerian Navy (2009), Micura (2010), Customs (211, 2012 and 2013), NAGAFF (2014) and ANLCA (2015).

The 2016 Maritime Cup competition is supported by TICT, Micura, Customs and Nigerian Shippers’ Council.